IMRF Awards 2022

The prestigious IMRF Awards are back for a seventh year to recognise volunteer and professional search-and-rescue (SAR) personnel from around the world.

The IMRF is looking for you to nominate someone or a team that has shown excellence in their field, developed innovative technology and equipment, or acted as a role model to inspire others.

This year’s awards will also shine a light on back-office staff, those colleagues who offer tireless support, training, and planning to enable SAR crews to do what they do, safe in the knowledge that they are all part of the same team.

“The last two years have been particularly challenging as the world has struggled to manage the global pandemic, but regardless of lockdowns, rising levels of infections and social distancing – SAR responders – volunteer and professional – have continued to answer the call of those in need at sea and in the world’s waters”, says Theresa Crossley, CEO, IMRF.

“Their commitment to saving lives has never wavered.  They have adapted, transformed their procedures and developed new practices and standards – demonstrating an exceptional dedication to their communities, remaining ready to help wherever they are needed,” she adds.

This year’s IMRF Awards will have five categories:

  • - Individual: For Outstanding Individual Contribution to Maritime SAR Operations
  • - Team: For Outstanding Team Contribution to Maritime SAR Operations
  • - Innovation & Technology: For Innovation and Technology in the field of Maritime SAR
  • - Lifetime Achievement: The Lifetime Achievement Award in the Maritime SAR Sector
  • - #WomeninSAR Award: Recognising exceptional and inspiring SAR women

The IMRF is pleased to announce the finalists for this year’s IMRF Awards, which recognise all those involved in maritime search and rescue (SAR) from around the world.

The finalists in the IMRF Awards 2022 are:

  • - Hendrik Jan Anne Spanjer (Maritime Academy Willem Barentsz, Netherlands)
  • - Rosie Musters (Coastguard New Zealand)
  • - Captain Isa Noah Amwe (Nigeria)
  • - Sarah Lundin (Canadian Coastguard)
  • - Chrissy Heu & Michael Cockburn (Jurien Bay Marine Rescue, Australia)
  • - Andrew Tate (RNLI, UK)
  • - John Millman (Canadian Coastguard)
  • - SOS Mediterranée R/S Ocean Viking SAR Team (France, Italy and Switzerland)
  • - NSRI Survival Swimming Centre (South Africa)
  • - Lifboat (Sweden)

The winners will be announced at the first part of our European Regional Meeting on 19 October 2022.

People's Choice Award

The nominees in this category are the finalists from each of the other five categories. Voting takes place via the IMRF Facebook page from 20 October 2022, with the winner announced at the second part of our European Regional Meeting on 2 November 2022.

Michael Vlasto, the former IMRF Chair and Chair of the Awards Judging Panel
Jared Blows, MRCC Chief, MRCC Cape Town, South Africa
Nigel Clifford, Deputy Director, Safety and Response Systems, Maritime New Zealand
Julie-Anne Wood, Assistant Director, Policy, Standards & International, UK Maritime & Coastguard Agency