Anders Bagge from the Swedish Sea Rescue Society (SSRS) has been announced as the 2023 recipient of the IMRF’s People’s Choice Award. The result was announced at the IMRF’s Annual Meeting in Norway on 7 November in Horten, Norway.

More than 1,700 votes were cast for this year’s People’s Choice Award, which gave members of the global maritime SAR community the opportunity to make their voices heard and decide which of the 10 winners and runners up from the IMRF Awards were deserving of this accolade.

Anders saved thousands of lives during his career with the SSRS. He was the station manager of the busiest station in Sweden and was on call for more than 30 years. Anders’ seamanship and SAR abilities were legendary. He was the most proficient Coxswain on all types of SSRS vessels. He passed this knowledge to thousands of aspiring coxswains and SAR personnel around the world, as well as taking part in the SSRS mission to the Aegean to save the lives of those crossing between Turkey and Greece.

“The IMRF Awards celebrate the incredible work done by the maritime SAR community, not only over the last 12 months, but for some over a long and distinguished career. Anders is the epitome of maritime SAR excellence, professionalism and dedication. He built a foundation that members of the SSRS will build upon for a long time to come, and his impact will be felt by those who have not yet stepped onto a boat or embarked on their own SAR journey. I want to congratulate Anders, his friends and family, and the SSRS on this award and hope it will inspire others to follow in his footsteps,” said Caroline Jupe, CEO of the IMRF.

“I also want to extend my full congratulations to all the nominees for this year’s People’s Choice Award. Each year, we receive a tremendous amount of incredible nominations from all over the world, and this year was no different. Maritime SAR thrives on the passion of the people involved and the IMRF will look to continue to raise awareness of the selfless and professional work undertaken by SAR personnel every single day,” she added.

You can read more about this year’s IMRF Award winners here.