IMRF Awards 2024

Details of how to vote for the IMRF People’s Choice Award 2024 will be announced in due course.

Anders Bagge from the Swedish Sea Rescue Society (SSRS) is the 2023 recipient of the IMRF’s People’s Choice Award. 

Anders saved thousands of lives during his career with the SSRS. He was the station manager of the busiest station in Sweden and was on call for more than 30 years. Anders’ seamanship and SAR abilities were legendary. He was the most proficient Coxswain on all types of SSRS vessels. He passed this knowledge to thousands of aspiring coxswains and SAR personnel around the world, as well as taking part in the SSRS mission to the Aegean to save the lives of those crossing between Turkey and Greece.

“The IMRF Awards celebrate the incredible work done by the maritime SAR community, not only over the last 12 months, but for some over a long and distinguished career. Anders is the epitome of maritime SAR excellence, professionalism and dedication. He built a foundation that members of the SSRS will build upon for a long time to come, and his impact will be felt by those who have not yet stepped onto a boat or embarked on their own SAR journey. I want to congratulate Anders, his friends and family, and the SSRS on this award and hope it will inspire others to follow in his footsteps,” said Caroline Jupe, CEO of the IMRF.